April book haul

Well, more like library haul. I’m pretty sure you’ve noticed that I don’t buy books very often. I’m rather picky when it comes to books. I only buy those I’m quite sure are worth the cash. Recently, I’ve discovered the power of holds so I guess I won’t be buying books for a while. Anyway, without further ado, here are my most recent takings (I added some blurbs from goodreads as well)

DSC_0178

The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork | Genres: Young adult, contemporary, mental health, realistic fiction

Vicky Cruz shouldn’t be alive.

That’s what she thinks, anyway—and why she tried to kill herself. But then she arrives at Lakeview Hospital, where she meets Mona, the live wire; Gabriel, the saint; E.M., always angry; and Dr. Desai, a quiet force. With stories and honesty, kindness and hard work, they push her to reconsider her life before Lakeview, and offer her an acceptance she’s never had.

Yet Vicky’s newfound peace is as fragile as the roses that grow around the hospital. And when a crisis forces the group to split up—sending her back to the life that drove her to suicide—Vicky must find her own courage and strength. She may not have any. She doesn’t know.

Inspired in part by the author’s own experience with depression,The Memory of Light is the rare young adult novel that focuses not on the events leading up to a suicide attempt, but the recovery from one—about living when life doesn’t seem worth it, and how we go on anyway.

DSC_0184

After the Woods by Kim Savage | Genres: Young adult, mystery, contemporary, thriller

Would you risk your life to save your best friend?

Julia did. When a paroled predator attacked Liv in the woods, Julia fought back and got caught. Liv ran, leaving Julia in the woods for a terrifying 48 hours that she remembers only in flashbacks. One year later, Liv seems bent on self-destruction, starving herself, doing drugs, and hooking up with a violent new boyfriend. A dead girl turns up in those same woods, and Julia’s memories resurface alongside clues unearthed by an ambitious reporter that link the girl to Julia’s abductor. As the devastating truth becomes clear, Julia realizes that after the woods was just the beginning.

DSC_0185

Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe # 1) by Rosamund Hodge | Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Retellings

Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl’s journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

DSC_0191

Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf # 1) by Ryan Graudin |Genres: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.

Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

Some unfinished series: The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater and Prodigy by Marie Lu; no blurbs for these as I know a lot of people who have yet to read these books.

DSC_0202

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle # 2) by Maggie Stiefvater |Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

I’m really loving this one so far. There are some hints of (mild spoiler) queer representations, the pace has gone slightly faster, and I’m looking forward to more exciting reveals.

DSC_0199

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle # 3) by Maggie Stiefvater | Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

DSC_0206

Prodigy (Legend # 2) | Genres: Young Adult, Science fiction/Dystopia, Romance

For those of you guys who have not yet read Marie Lu’s trilogy, I suggest you give her first book a try. I didn’t write a review for Legend, but it was quite a good read if you disregard the matter of instalove between the two main characters.

That’s about it, I guess. Oh yeah, I almost forgot. I just bought a camera and I’m currently drowning myself in these.

DSC_0216

and I am enjoying too much I’m afraid. Most of my time is spent shooting portraits, taking photo-walks, and tweaking photos with my good old pal, Adobe lightroom. Let’s hope I’ll get into my usual 2-3 books a week routine.

Have you read any of these books? How’s Spring treating you? I am all ready to ditch the outerwear, but it still freezing over here (sigh).

2 thoughts on “April book haul

    1. I’m close to finishing The Dream Thieves, and it’s a 4 or a 4.5 rating for me.

      Oh cool. Then I guess I’d have to read Wolf by Wolf after I finish Blue Lily.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

