Book Review: Never Never (Never Never # 1)

24378015

Book Review # 25: Never Never (Never Never # 1) by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher
Copy: E-book
Number of Pages: 159
Rating: Image and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic 
Actual Rating: 2.5 stars

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.
Complete strangers since this morning.
He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

This is a very short and impulsive review. You have been warned.

I tried to like this, this… whatever this is. People call this a novella, and I don’t want to argue so let’s leave it at that. Never Never is a three-part story about Silas and Charlie. They have been friends and lovers since forever. It begins with said characters blindly finding their way in school because they do not remember anything. I repeat, they have no memories, and it isn’t even retrograde amnesia, I think. Upon discovering some partial truth about themselves, they decided to team up to scavenge their current lives in the hopes of retrieving their memories. However, nothing seems to be going well…. so far.

This book didn’t work for me. It would have been easier to accept a three-part series rather than a three-part novella that looks like a disappointing compilation of fillers. I do acknowledge that the mystery is tolerable. I could go so far as to say it’s intriguing, but the minor revelations aren’t interesting enough to keep me from closing my tab.

As for the romance and the characters, I’m not so much a fan of bitchy female leads as I am of nice guys who fall in love too easily. I’m not even sure if I should root for this couple because there’s just so much this-is-what-we-used-to-be drama going on. Charlie is too aloof and guarded. Silas is too hopelessly in love, and it does not look cute, but to be fair, he did sound genuinely concerned about Charlie, so Silas/Charlie fans, let’s call it a truce.

The first book is definitely an introduction to the future mess that this series (I feel really conflicted whenever I call this a series) will bring into existence. Despite numerous “mind-f*ck”, “what the hell happened?”, and “omggg” reviews, this book didn’t do much to surprise me. None of it made sense. It only left miniature fragments (I am being redundant, but I just have to get my point across) of the actual truth, and I just believe we deserve better.

Good points

    • Some parts are plain creepy, and well, creepy is almost always a bonus. There’s this one encounter that seriously spooked me. Look forward to it.
    • The ending managed to coax me into reading the next part.

The verdict: I still think it would have been better to publish this story as a standalone, but judging by the number of fans this book has managed to produce, I suggest you still give it a try. You might like it. might.

Btw, I placed this book under ‘series’. I feel so torn right now.

Leave a Reply

